The Episcopal Church
This parish is part of the Episcopal Diocese of Springfield. Visit the diocesan site for information about our bishop, other church locations and diocesan news.
Episcopal Diocese of Springfield


What is Vestry?

The Vestry is the governing board of the parish and consists of the Rector, the Wardens and lay members. The Vestry at Saint John's has nine members. Each year at our Annual Meeting the congregation elects new members for three-year terms.

The Rector presides at meetings of the Vestry which handle the parish’s business and temporal matters. Additionally, the Vestry serves as a council of advice for the Rector. As its primary responsibility, the Vestry oversees the parish’s financial health. In partnership with the rector, it develops and approves the annual parish budget. The Vestry also serves as an advisory council to the rector who by church law is the parish’s chief liturgical and pastoral officer.

The Vestry meets in Saint John's Library.

If you need to contact any Vestry Member, please contact the parish office at or at 217-344-1924.

Our Vestry

Steve Brown - Coordinator of liturgical ministry

Charles Eames, Parish Warden - Chair of the Property Committee

Lisa Gatzke

Jo Anne Geigner - Chair of the Hospitality Committee

Emily Knox, Clerk of the Vestry - Chair of the Social Concerns Committee

Ann Prisland - Lead Sacristan, Coordinator of the Sacristy, and Chair of Sacristans

Chris Rao - Stewardship Committee Chair

Rachel Smith-Bolton - Co-Chair of the Parish Care Committee

James Weber, Rector's Warden

Joyce Wright - Chair of the Ushers and Oblationers

Other Parish Officers

Treasurer: Matthew Frank

Assistant Treasurer: Matthew Winters